- Police Home
- Key Information
- Public Alerts
- Fingerprinting Services
- Hands Only CPR
- Job Listings
- Local Jails
- Municipal Court
- Police Agencies
- Useful Phone Numbers
- Victim and Other Resources
- Business Information Packet
- Press Releases
- Distracted Driving Law
- Lake Oswego K-9's to receive bullet proof vests
- Shop with a cop
- Brutal Assault Suspect Described
- Citizen Suspicious Behavior Reports Result In Arrests
- Deer Heads Suspect Charged
- Deer Heads Suspect Identified
- Lake Oswego Police Lieutenant Graduates FBI National Academy
- Lake Oswego Prescription Delivery Pilot Project
- Lake Oswego Recognizes 911 Telecommunicators As First Responders
- Lake Oswego Woman Dies in Single-Vehicle Traffic Crash
- Police Arrest Suspects Involved in Thefts From Vehicles
- Police Seek Help Identifying Assault Suspect
- Police Seek Help Locating Suspect in an Armed Robbery
- Police Seek Public's Help Identifying Hit and Run Suspect
- Police To Conduct Pedestrian Safety Operation
- Power Washing and Chimney Repair Scammers in Lake Oswego and SW Portland
- Reward Offered in Assault Investigation
- Roehr Park Shooting Suspect Arrested
- Two Deer Heads Found In Lake Oswego Neighborhood
- Two Suspects Arrested After Fleeing From Police In Stolen Vehicle
- LOPD Use of Force Policy and "8 Can't Wait"
- Contact Us
- Submit a Tip
- Lake Oswego Police Statement on the Death of George Floyd
Oregon's new Distracted Driving Law takes effect October 1, 2017
On October 1st, 2017, legislation by the State of Oregon aimed at curbing distracted driving will take effect and prohibit certain uses of mobile electronic devices while driving a motor vehicle. The goal is to keep a driver’s head up and hands on the wheel.
Driving means operating a motor vehicle on a highway or premise open to the public including while temporarily stationary due to traffic, a traffic control device, or other momentary delay.
Mobile electronic devices are any devices not permanently installed in a motor vehicle and are capable of but not limited to activities such as voice communication, texting, entertainment, navigation, accessing the internet, and producing email.
Drivers 18 years of age or older may use their devices when coupled with a hands-free accessory or permanently installed hands-free accessory in their vehicle.
The first offense carries a base fine of $260. Additional convictions may result in increased penalties.